Ground Chicken/Turkey Caprese Burger

Standard

food-11

 

So this week I bought a ridiculous amount of this ground chicken this week thinking “oh its 40% off let me buy 5lbs of it” and be completely in denial of that fact that it was going to expire in 5 days… and…I had NO room in my freezer.. but that’s besides the point. So as I’m in a panic to use up my ground chicken, I search Pinterest and decided to try out this recipe for turkey burgers.

Now normally I would mix half turkey/chicken with half beef. Reasoning for this is you still get the awesome flavor of the beef but can decrease the fat content by mixing in the ground turkey/chicken. The choice is yours.

Recipe as follows:

1 lb. ground turkey meat (prefer thigh meat)
1 medium red onion, finely chopped
1/2 cup fresh parsley, minced (or whatever fresh herbs you like)
1 tbsp garlic powder
1 tsp salt
1 tsp pepper

My additions:

1/2 tbsp-tbsp of butter/ghee per patty
1 beefsteak tomato (or ones that look the freshest)
a few slices of sun-dried tomatoes chopped (add to taste)
a few sprigs of fresh basil

Directions:

Mix ingredients together and form 4-6 patties. Grill on medium heat for 7 minutes a side. 2 minutes before burgers are done, place a slice of cheese (optional) on each patty. Serve hot.

With an all ground turkey meat burger I like to add a little less than a tablespoon of butter or ghee to the middle of the patty, almost like a filling. I know it’s not fat free, but in order to get a juicy burger, you have to add some type of fat to the burger.

Now lets talk toppings…. because I am located in the Italian capital of the US aka New Jersey I was able to get some oh so fabulous fresh Mozzarella, as well as some banging tomatoes so I decided to do a spin on a caprese salad.

About two minutes into flipping the patty I added the slice of tomato and fresh mozzarella. Side note I do recommend using a thermometer to check the temperature of the burger, undercooked chicken/turkey=no good(you know that thing called salmonella)  overcooking=no good(hockey puck burger)… golden temperature=160-165F … After the patties are cooked, add the chopped sun-dried tomato and fresh basil. Serve over lettuce and enjoy!

I served this burger on a  bed a lettuce with a side of sweet potato fries, which of course I will be posting.. just not today… sorry friends you’ll have to wait for that one!

Thanks again,

and a special thanks to:

http://userealbutter.com/2008/05/03/turkey-burgers-recipe/ retrieved from Pinterest 

Now that’s what for pinner!

Leave a Reply

